Welcome to the Claude LORIUS website

A Researcher, a Glaciologist but above all an explorer of Antarctica. Through this site you will discover Claude's carreer, his works, his discoveries..

Main campaigns and expeditions

A total of 22 summer and winter campaigns on the icecaps, in Greenland and mostly in Antarctica Charcot in 1957, Dumont d'Urville in 1965, Vostok in 1984, namely over six years spent in the field.

Ice and Sky

"Ice and Sky" is Luc Jacquet's fourth full-feature film. This documentary is focused on scientist Claude Lorius extraordinary path, man of the cold who spent his life studying and tracking the well kept climate secrets in the very depth of the Antarctic ices.

Welcome to the Website of Claude Lorius

30 years ago we sounded the alarm. We discovered in the depths of the Antarctic icecap that our planet climate history and our atmosphere composition have been bound, for hundreds of thousands of years, to the regular trip of the earth around the sun. From the beginning of 19th century, human activites develop with industrialisation, polluting our atmosphere and leading to climate warming, the impacts of which affect life conditions of humans, particularly the poorest populations. Scientists, the UN, governements, numerous associations and ourselves, citizens, must put in priority the struggle against this warming caused by man. The fight against global warming is more than ever a priority. We can only sadly observe the absence of a necessary international governance based on solidarity and involving decision-makers, politicians and citizens. Quite an heavy task which requires more education and research, as well as a change in Man behaviours and motivatons.

Born  on February 27th 1932, Claude Lorius, Master of Science in Physics from Besançon University, replies to an ad : " Looking for young students to participate in campaigns organised for the International Geophysical Year ".

This is how begins the scientist's career in a discipline that just appeared in the 50's : glaciology.

Over his 40 years career, he will take part in 22 expeditions, a total of 6 years in the field ! Even if he puts his feet in Greenland, his "land" of predilection will be Antarctica.

x

On April 20 2016 Claude's autobiography is published. Some pages of which - in French - are available ici

Hero of the movie Ice and Sky, Claude Lorius relates in this book his carreer as glaciologist. The adventure begins in 1955 with an ad posted in the Besançon university. Young people in good shape and not affraid of solitude are needed. He then does not suspect at all he will participate in the greatest scientific adventure ever carried out on the antarctic continent.

Claude decorated by the President.

Wednesday december 9th 2015, French President, François Hollande, proceeded to a medal presentation to Mrs Marion Guillou, Mr Nicolas Hulot, Mr Bertrand Hervieu, Mr Claude Lorius, Mr Jean Jouzel and Mrs Claude Nahon, all leading figures involved in the climate and sustaining development concerns.

With a strong emotion, Claude received the distinction of Great Officer in the National Merit Order.

Ice and Sky closes Cannes 68th Festival

The 68th Cannes Festival closing movie has just been unveiled, it is Luc Jacquet documentary Ice and Sky.

The French director, oscar-winner for the March of the Penguins, will present his fourth feature film Sunday May 24 at the Grand Théâtre Lumière of the Palais des Festivals.

This ode to the planet conservation mentions scientist Claude Lorius discoveries, gone study the Antarctic ices in 1957, and who, in 1965, was the first to worry about global warming and its consequences for the planet.

Ice and Sky will be released on our screens on October 21.

On the occasion of the launch of the" Ice and Sky "  educational program on October 14th 2014 in Paris , in the presence of Luc Jacquet and Jean Jouzel, Wild-Touch announces the uploading of the new website devoted to the metaproject :

www.laglaceetleciel.com

It will be done in the continuity of the project on rain forests "La Forêt des Pluies" :

A feature movie directed by Luc Jacquet around the emblematic personality of Claude Lorius, a pioneer of glaciology and climate study,

a documentary for television,

an ambitious educational program,

an educational fablab,

and a large expedition in Antarctica in 2015.

France will be the host country for the 21st Conference on Climate from November 10 to December 11 2015 (Paris Climat 2015).

COP21, also named Paris 2015, will be one of the largest international conferences organised on the French territory.

It appears crucial because it must result in an international agreement on climate which will enable global warming containment to less than 2°C.

Links to favorite sites

Bienvenue sur le site de Claude LORIUS

Chercheur, Glaciologue mais avant tout un aventurier de l'Antarctique. Au travers de ce site, vous allez découvrir la carrière de Claude, ses travaux, ses découvertes...

Les principales campagnes et expéditions

Totalisant 22 campagnes d’été et d’hiver sur les calottes polaires, au Groenland et surtout en Antarctique Charcot en 1957, Dumont d’Urville en 1965, Vostok en 1984, soit plus de six ans passés sur le terrain.

La Glace et le Ciel

La Glace et le Ciel est le quatrième long métrage de Luc Jacquet. Ce documentaire est centré sur le parcours hors du commun du scientifique Claude Lorius, homme du froid qui a passé sa vie à étudier et à traquer au plus profond des glaces de l'Antarctique les secrets bien gardés du climat.

Bienvenue sur le Site de Claude Lorius

Il y a 30 ans, nous avons sonné l’alerte en découvrant dans la profondeur des glaces de l’Antarctique que l’histoire du climat de notre planète et la composition de notre atmosphère étaient liés depuis des centaines de milliers d’années à la ballade régulière de la terre autour du soleil. Dès le début du 19ème siècle, les activités de l’homme se développent avec l’industrialisation, polluant notre atmosphère et conduisant au réchauffement climatique dont les impacts touchent les conditions de vie des humains et notamment les populations les plus pauvres. Les chercheurs, l’ONU, les gouvernements, de nombreuses associations et nous, citoyens, devons mettre une priorité à la lutte contre ce réchauffement dû à l’homme. La lutte contre le réchauffement climatique est plus que jamais une priorité. On ne peut hélas que constater l’absence d’une nécessaire gouvernance internationale basée sur la solidarité et impliquant décideurs, politiques et citoyens. Une lourde tâche qui exige plus d’éducation et de recherches, un changement des comportements et motivations de l’Homme.

Né le 27 février 1932, Claude Lorius, diplômé d’études supérieures de physique à l’Université de Besançon, répond à une petite annonce : "Recherchons jeunes étudiants pour participer aux campagnes organisées pour l’Année Géophysique Internationale".

Voilà comment débute la carrière du glaciologue pour une science qui vient de faire son apparition dans les années 50 : la glaciologie.

En 40 ans de carrière, il partira 22 fois en expéditions, totalisant 6 ans de campagnes sur le terrain! S’il met les pieds au Groenland, sa "terre" de prédilection sera l’Antarctique.

Mémoire sauvées des Glaces : l'autobiographie de Claude

Le 20 avril 2016 paraît l'autobiographie de Claude dont quelques pages sont déjà disponibles sur internet ici

Héros du film La Glace et le Ciel, Claude Lorius évoque dans ce livre sa carrière de glaciologue. L’aventure commence en 1955 par une petite annonce à la faculté de Besançon. On recherche des jeunes gens en bonne santé et ne craignant pas la solitude… Il ne se doute pas alors qu’il va participer à la plus grande aventure scientifique jamais entreprise sur le continent antarctique.

Claude décoré par le président de la République

Le mercredi 09 décembre 2015, le président de la République, François Hollande, a procédé à la remise des décorations à Mme Marion Guillou, M. Nicolas Hulot, M. Bertrand Hervieu, M. Claude Lorius, M. Jean Jouzel et Mme Claude Nahon, personnalités engagées dans les enjeux climatiques et du développement durable.

Avec beaucoup d’émotion, Claude a reçu la distinction de Grand Officier dans l’ordre national du mérite 

La Glace et le Ciel clôture le 68ème festival de Cannes

Le film de clôture du 68 ème Festival de Cannes vient d’être dévoilé, il s’agit du documentaire de Luc Jacquet ; La Glace et le ciel.

Le réalisateur français, oscarisé pour La Marche de l'Empereur, viendra présenter son quatrième long métrage le dimanche 24 mai dans le Grand Théâtre Lumière du Palais des Festivals. 

Cet hymne à la sauvegarde de la planète évoque les découvertes du scientifique Claude Lorius, parti en 1957 étudier les glaces de l’Antarctique, et qui, en 1965, s’est inquiété le premier du réchauffement climatique et de ses conséquences pour la planète.

La Glace et le ciel sortira sur nos écrans le 21 octobre prochain.

Programme Pédagogique La glace et le ciel

À l’occasion du lancement du programme pédagogique « La Glace et le Ciel » le 13 octobre 2014 à Paris en présence de Luc Jacquet et de Jean Jouzel, Wild-Touch vous annonce la mise en ligne du nouveau site internet dédié au métaprojet :

www.laglaceetleciel.com

Il se fera dans la continuité du projet sur les forêts primaires « La Forêt des Pluies » :

Un long-métrage de cinéma réalisé par Luc Jacquet autour de la personnalité emblématique de Claude Lorius, pionnier de la glaciologie et de l’étude du climat,

un documentaire de télévision,

un ambitieux programme pédagogique,

un fablab de l’éducation,

et une grande expédition en Antarctique en 2015.

Paris Climat 2015

La France sera le pays hôte de la 21e conférence climat du 10 novembre au 11 décembre 2015 (Paris Climat 2015).

La COP21, que l’on appelle aussi Paris 2015, sera l’une des plus grandes conférences internationales organisées sur le territoire français.

Elle apparaît cruciale car elle doit aboutir à un accord international sur le climat qui permettra de contenir le réchauffement global en deçà de 2°C.

Liens des sites préférés